Rogers Cup in Montreal on August 5-14 2011

July 19, 2011

On August 5th – 14th 2011, Montreal will be hosting the men’s Rogers Cup tournament. The Rogers Cup is classified as a Masters 1,000 event on the ATP world tour, it is organized by Tennis Canada and takes place at the Uniprix Stadium in Montreal. The Rogers Cup has been a Canadian tradition since 1881, making it the 3rd oldest tennis tournament after Wimbledon and the US Open.

The last time Montreal hosted the men’s tournament was in 2009. Past Rogers Cup champions include: Andre Agassi, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, Rod Laver, Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl and John Mcenroe. Starting August 5th, the British superstar, Andy Murray will be defending his 2 time champion title. Canada’s Milos Raonic , currently ranked 28th in the world, will also be present at the tournament.

56 singles players and 28 double teams will be competing for a total of 3 million USD in prize money. The tournament will be played on a hard court surface, more precisely deco turf. The official spokesperson for the 2011 Rogers Cup is Genevieve Brouillette, a popular local actress and comedian.

More information about the tournament on the Rogers Cup’s official website



You Might Also Like